Chapter 3: The Fullness of Time

January 17, 2007

“The principle that man can save himself by his own works lay at the foundation of every heathen religion: it had now become the principle of the Jewish religion. Satan had implanted this principle. Wherever it is held, men have no barrier against sin.” DA31.

I like application, but this one is embarassing. In my heart I believe, and I have said many times, Christians do not become stronger–we become more dependant. But I can not say my mind hasn’t recently tried to buff up against sin and save my self from temptation. Also I have replayed the thought that maybe my sins have caused me to be cut off from God, and that if I can be good, God would love me enough to forgive me. How great that the Holy Spirit does interpret my prayers in the language that cuts through the muck in my own mind. I hope never to be better, becuase I would surely forget that Jesus is good enough. My only hope is to be dependant on God for my complete salvation: now in daily living and at last in heaven when my mind will not be so frail. Do you ever feel that you can save yourself?

“It was his purpose to wear out the forbearance of God, and to distinguish His love for man, so that He would abandon the world…” DA30

This quote comes at the end of an explaination of how completely debase the image of God had become in man. Can you believe that Satan’s aim was to sink us so far that even God would not love us? Have you ever felt unloved by God? This passage reveals to me where that feeling comes from; but this was before Jesus came, and it seems that on a cosmic level, it was not already plain as blue skies in the universe that God is Love! Other worlds wondered. If you wonder, this book and the Bible are for you.

And this quote is like a heart massage. I will read it again several times even as I post it here. And may carry it in my pocket for some days.

“Satan was exulting that he had succeeded in debasing the image of God in humanity. Then Jesus came to restore in man the image of his Maker. None but Christ can fashion anew the character that has been ruined by sin. He came to expel the demons that had controlled the will. He came to lift us up from the dust, to reshape the marred character after the pattern of His divine character, and to make it beautiful with His own glory.” DA32

I hope this week finds you in Christ.
Seth

3 Responses to “Chapter 3: The Fullness of Time”

  1. Renee said

    A couple passages that I have been thinking about this week seem to fit here nicely:

    Hebrews 12:2
    Jeremiah 9:23-24 (a new favorite)

  2. Jan said

    Renee..I looked up those texts in a contemporary version: “Have enough sense to brag about worshiping me!” Indeed…as someone who tends to be, unfortunately, a name dropper..it is a good one to remember.

    My thoughts today..I am reading in DA about fasting..and Jesus in the desert. Is fasting only having to do with food? Do we need to fast from TV? the computer? Or, horrors, NPR?

    Seth..I have a suggestion. Why don’t you write an email and send to me..and I will send it around to all the family. We had such fun with the Christmas go around, maybe this might be even more fun! I love the idea of worshiping together as a family community via this blog. It was so good to read Renee’s comment; and look up those texts.

    Mom-o

  3. wallygoots said

    I also looked up those texts yesterday, and both are gems, though I would relish to add Heb. 12:3 to the thought as well.

    “Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”

    (Fixing our eyes on Jesus is the best bet for keeping heart energy. Even sugar can’t beat down “heart.”)

    Cheerio,
    Seth

Leave a Reply

