Week 3

January 28, 2007

What to you think of the book so far? I especially appreciate how Ellen extracts and applies the lessons in vivid and practical language. She is honest–sometimes brutally honest–and then enchantingly inspirational. Do you think she actually saw scenes from the life of Jesus in vision?

This week:

The Baptism
The Temptation
The Victory
“We Have Found the Messias”
At the Marriage Feast

Thanks for reading along. If any of you find a chapter of special interest and want to write the daily on it, email me at wallygoots@yahoo.com

Have a great week,

Seth

6 Responses to “Week 3”

  1. Renee said

    I hope you don’t mind that I’m chiming in, even though I’m not reading it! I enjoy reading all y’all’s interactions about it here. I have a cool family. 🙂

  2. wallygoots said

    It was designed for you to chime in Renee. It’s part of the corporate devotional experience that I intended: to have some folks reading, and others popping in to just to share the journey.

    I think what is represented here is what a group of people are finding as the essence of these chapters relating to life. If you pick up that essence, I’m jazzed. And I’m guessing that you won’t be able to resist picking a chapter to read up on one of these weeks.

  3. Steve said

    So far it has been completely unlike what I had expected from Ellen White. I guess I thought it was going to be really hard to digest, and somewhat irrelevant and I always had something in the back of my mind that made me avoid her writing because of those that call her a prophet or use her work out of context.

    I’m enjoying this study and the discussion to accompany it. Thanks all!

  4. wallygoots said

    I’m so glad you are sharing this with us Steve. I know you have babies and a business to run, but after reading your comments on Gorp I’m really thankful that the Holy Spirit is pulling you to know Jesus, and that your responding. It’s so easy just to numb through life and church–it’s the spiritual air that we breath on this earth. Polluted.

    And I think views of Ellen White and the Bible have been polluted to. There are plenty of people who are down in the ruts plowing with their faces and hooking electric shock wires to the covers of books like the Desire of Ages. Funny thing is, even Ellen White can be a religion. I sometimes picture a whole group of angry adventists followers standing around her grave carving their pet passages into the handles of large wooden clubs. But her weapon is the Sword of the Spirit. Thank God! Much more effective, yet as gentle as Jesus.

  5. Carla said

    The picture of angry Adventists around Ellen White’s grave with clubs inscribed with pet passages is sometimes painfully true. I live in the city where she is buried. There are those within my church family here who would like to knock people upside the head with her quotes, usually taken out of context, to support their warped view of Jesus and his work. I believe the Desire of Ages is a wonderful book to bring to the forefront of thought exactly why Jesus came and died for us. I am excited to join the dialog here as I had started reading the book in a small group here but it has ended because of group members moving away. I look forward to more and adding what God points out to me as I read.

  6. wallygoots said

    In a way, I love those semi-automatic EGW guns. They’re so committed to their “issue” (whatever it is). I also feel hopeless considering them because it seems they are the most difficult to reach with the love of Christ. Jesus lost many of them in His day. I think we all have a pet idea, but my mantra about such things is: “If your ‘thing’ isn’t Jesus, you’ve got the wrong ‘thing.'”

    Welcome Carla

Leave a Reply

