Chapter 11: The Baptism

January 29, 2007

Consider the implications of these three quotes building up to one idea:

“Jesus did not receive baptism as a confession of guilt on His own account. He identified Himself with sinners … ” DA102

“He pleads with the Father for power to overcome their unbelief, to break the fetters with which Satan has enthralled them, and in their behalf to conquer the destroyer. He asks for the witness that God accepts humanity in the person of His Son.” DA103

“Notwithstanding that the sins of a guilty world were laid upon Christ, notwithstanding the humiliation of taking upon Himself our fallen nature, the voice from heaven declared Him to be the Son of the Eternal.” DA104

Did you catch the development here in these quotes? Jesus is baptised to identify himself with sinners. In essence He was trying on my robe of unrighteousness! My nature, the fallen sinful one, full of past guilt, weakness, and disheartening decisions he took. (Quote 1). Who’s humanity is Jesus asking God to accept in His very human person? (Quote 2). Surely it is my own human nature that Jesus is pleading with God to accept. I was laid upon him. My fallen nature with its humiliation, He took and plead for (Quote 3). And God answered, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.” No wonder Satan hastened to tempt Jesus. If he could cause Jesus to fall, I would fall also, and forever. Essentially, the stakes were as high 2000 years ago for me as they were right then for Jesus. Because today I accept Christ as my Lord, 2000 years ago I was baptised and accepted into the life of Jesus. I was tempted 2000 years ago, and in Christ Satan was defeated. What a risk it was to take my very nature on. And yet, even God blasted from the heavens the response, “I am pleased to have you as my son.”

“The Lord longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!” Isaiah 30:18

This day has scared me. Besides my own heap of debts and dead-ends, a friend faces death tonight. It is a sorrowful world that Jesus aligned himself with; yet hope will not be cut down. Waiting for Him is sometimes very difficult, and pain so numbing, but the Word of God did become flesh. He speaks today with the same power, and claims the same as His sons. I want never to forget that because Christ took me on, I am His son and He is pleased with me.

One Response to “Chapter 11: The Baptism”

  1. This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

Leave a Reply

